Awards of Distinction

SVMA Awards of Distinction

The SVMA has a proud and longstanding tradition of recognizing member excellence. Members are invited to nominate one or more of their colleagues for one or more of the following awards. These awards have been established to recognize and honour individual members of the Association. Initial nominations for an SVMA award must come from a member of the Association. Additional information in support of a nomination can be submitted by another member, lay staff or family and friends of the nominee.

The nominator must identify the specific award and submit a written overview of the member’s achievements or contributions related to that specific award. All submissions will be dealt with in confidence by the awards committee. Awards are presented at the SVMA Awards Night Banquet at the September Annual Conference.

Awards and Nomination Criteria

The J.J. Murison Distinguished Veterinarian award is the highest level of recognition the SVMA can bestow on a member and is presented annually. The criteria for selection include service to the SVMA, the profession and the public as well as competency, personality and character. Only SVMA members in good standing and not currently serving on council are eligible. Nominations for previous recipients of this award will not be considered. Nominees not selected in the year nominated will be considered during the selection process for the following two years. Life and honorary members are eligible for awards. Past award recipients are listed below.

The Meritorious Service award recognizes a member in good standing who has made an outstanding single or long-term contribution to the quality of life in their community or province. This achievement may be in the area of youth or senior programs, philanthropic organizations or the arts.This award can be presented to more than one member in any year. This award may not be presented every year.

The Robert T. Bellamy Communications and Public Relations award recognizes a member’s efforts to bring information, knowledge or advice related to veterinary medicine or the profession to the public. This award might recognize a member being repeatedly called upon by the media to be a spokesperson providing information regarding a specific situation, or for a member who participates in any form of public education. This award may not be awarded annually.

The Mentorship/Leadership award was inaugurated in 2014 to recognize a member or group of members who makes an outstanding contribution as a leader or mentor in our profession. By fostering an interest in students, new graduates or employees, and cultivating their veterinary aspirations, sharing practice wisdom or demonstrating healthy work-life balance, mentors play a vital role in assisting young veterinarians with their transition into practice.

The Technologist of the Year award is given to recognize a technologist who plays an integral part in the practice of veterinary medicine. This person must be an active member in good standing of the SVMA; be active and have made a significant contribution in the field of animal health and demonstrate outstanding performance and dedication to their profession.

The Young Veterinarian award was inaugurated in 2018 to recognize a veterinarian who has graduated within the past five years and demonstrated emerging leadership in the veterinary profession through enthusiasm for veterinary medicine, eagerness to learn from colleagues and clients, willingness to share new knowledge with senior colleagues, and/or advocacy for the profession.

Send nominations to or fax to 306.975.0623

In This Section

Coming Events

Download Newsletter

Scroll to Top